7 Jun – Mt Alexander Gravel Sprint

Congratulations to Matt Summerfield, winner of the 2020 Mt Alexander Gravel Sprint in his Mitsubishi Mirage AP4. Photo thanks to Allan Pritchard from River Retreat Photography https://www.facebook.com/River.Retreat.Photography/

A cold, frosty start greeted the entrants to the 2020 Mt Alexander Rallysprint. A new start line further up the road meant competitors had a clean slate on times. A full field of 40 drivers and their nominated codrivers were set to make the long anticipated return to the gravel. Overall, it was a well behaved bunch. An accident by topseeded, Job Quantock ended his day early after rolling his Skoda Fabia AP4. But it was another AP4 of Matt Summerfield in his Mitsubishi Mirage who took the win. Followed by Sean Haggerty and Blair Logan. In 2wd Marcus van Klink had his Mazda RX8 humming to lead. And a side bet from local icon Deane Buist spurred on the 1300 – 1600cc class B to challenge each other for the win, and furthermore putting them in the mix for a top 10 outright. Tim Smith and Dean Johnston would battle hard to take stop spot with 0.6 seconds between them for the days end. Dean returns home with a refunded entry fee, courtesy of Palmside. Overall a fantastic day and plenty of talking points leading into our next event, Kaiwara Road Gravel Sprint 19th July.

Words by Jack Smith from MA Media.