## AUTOSPORT CLUB PRESIDENTS REPORT FOR YEAR ENDED 2019

Welcome to the Autosport Club's Annual General Meeting for the year ended 2019.

It is the end of an era for the Club as I step down from this duty due to our relocation to Motueka. I have held this title for 13 years and it is time for the Club to have a new direction and carry on arranging events for our members.

I have had a wonderful time as President which is due to working with great Committee Members and also the great people in our Club. This I will miss but will try a few duties with the Nelson Club.

Both Leanne and I will remain on the Canterbury and Hanmer Committee's so I will not be lost totally.

The year started off dry again and we completed the following events:

- 10 February Piper Valley Spring won by David Quantock.
- 20 February Annual General Meeting.
- 31 March Rakaia Zig Zag. Mike Tall won this event by 0.01 seconds from Garet Thomas.
- 28 April Autocross. Day / night sprint won by Sean Haggerty.
- 8 May Quiz night well organised by Sarah Brennan
- 2 June Canterbury Rally. Another successful event run on our North Canterbury Roads. This was won by Ben Hunt with co-driver Tony Rawston.
- 28 July Malvern Hills Sprint. This was an interesting road which cut up badly and the Council were not happy and tried to blame the Club but the road was not stable in the first place. This was won by Josh Marston.
- 18 August Cust Sprint which was won in style by David Clearwater.
- 29 September Autocross at Kirwee. An Awesome day had by 48 Drivers. This was really good support. Matt McGlinchey was the lucky winner of this event.
- 3 November Autocross at Sefton which was won by David Fahey. Again another well supported event with 29 Drivers.

This current year has started with a cancellation of the Kaiwara Road Sprint due to dry conditions. This was to have taken place on 23 February 2020.

These events closed another year for the Club and it was great to see you all out enjoying life in your cars.

My special thanks goes out to the Committee in doing another sterling job in arranging and helping with the events.

Tony Witheridge our timing man and very special person.

Sarah Brennan- thanks for all of your work behind the scenes.

Karl & Jamie – you keep the ship afloat and great website work Karl.

Chris Herdman – great effort again but we missed you when you went to America for a while.

Tim Smith – a good job as Club Captain this year.

Barry, John, Jack, Murray, Daniel, Michael, thanks for your help over the year as well.

Keith Troon, our Medic. We cannot run our events without you and we thank you for your dedication to our events.

To all the Scrutineers and Marshalls we also cannot run out events without you guys. Your work timelessly behind the scenes is very much appreciated.

Thank you to the Canterbury Rally and Hanmer Committee's. With special thanks going to Paul Bradshaw for the lead up work he has been doing already towards this year's Canterbury Rally. Let's get cranked up again for two great events this year.

Barney – you are my mentor and I thank you for all you do for the Club.

Finally thanks to all the competitors out there. You turn up and have fun. We need you there so keep it up and enjoy your club events.

I wish the Autosport Club great time ahead. I have enjoyed my time with you all and thankfully I will still be around at times.

All the best to you all.

I have been working with Murray Christofferson on the Committee and hereby would like to nominate Murray to take over as your new President and also call for the Election of Officers for this year.

Graham Wilson President 26<sup>th</sup> February 2020.